#### **MINUTES**

Date of Meeting: May 15, 2012

Type of Meeting: Annual Meeting

Place of Meeting: Long Beach Middle School Cafeteria

Members Present: President Dennis Ryan

Vice President Roy Lester

Board Member Patrick E. Gallagher

Board Member Gina Guma

**Board Member Darlene Tangney** 

Members Absent: None

Others Present: Mr. David Weiss, Superintendent

Dr. Randie Berger, Deputy Superintendent

Dr. Vincent Butera, Assistant Superintendent - Curriculum

and Instruction

Mr. Michael DeVito, Chief Operating Officer Ms. Anna Scricca, Ingerman Smith, LLP

Ms. Carole Butler, District Clerk

### I. Call to Order/Pledge/Opening Remarks – President Ryan

Call to Order

President Ryan called the meeting to order at 10:25 PM, and led the community in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# II. Superintendent's Report – Mr. Weiss

Superintendent's Report

#### Acceptance of Vote for School District and Library Board Trustees and Budgets

President Ryan announced the results of the voting:

- School Budget passed by a comfortable margin and Dr. Ryan thanked everyone for their support for public education.
- Library Budget passed; congratulated Mr. Trepp.
- Mr. Mininsky was the largest vote getter thereby winning a seat as a Trustee on the Board of Education.
- At this point the second seat is too close to call. The outcome will be determined by the
  validation of the Affidavit Ballots once they are verified which will hopefully be some time
  tomorrow.

# II. Superintendent's Report – Mr. Weiss (continued)

- President Ryan thanked Mrs. Butler for the coordination of the election on behalf of the Board of Education.
- Mr. Warren Vegh was congratulated on his successful bid for the Library Board Trustee.
- Superintendent Weiss thanked Mary Ellen Condon for her service on behalf of the election.
- Budget passed by 66%.
- Election numbers will be released following the outcome of the Affidavit Ballots.

President Ryan called for a motion to hold a meeting at 5:30 PM tomorrow, May 16, 2012, to announce the results of the election.

Motion by: Board Member Guma Seconded by: Board Member Gallagher

Approved: 5-0

III.	President	Ryan o	called	for a	motion	to	adjourn	at	10:35	PN	1.
------	-----------	--------	--------	-------	--------	----	---------	----	-------	----	----

Adjournment

Motion by: Board Member Guma

Seconded by: President Ryan

Approved: 5-0

Minutes submitted by:	
•	Carole Butler, District Clerk
	June 5, 2012